Lighting the way to energy savings


170 electric co-op members win LEDs

Thanks to technological improvements, one of the most cost-effective and easiest ways to save energy in your home is through one simple process: replacement of your old incandescent and compact fluorescent lights (CFLs) with ultra-efficient light-emitting diode (LED) bulbs.

To help members understand the significance of the lighting change, Arkansas’ electric co-ops made energy-efficient lighting the theme of the 2017 Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas’ Energy Efficiency Makeover Contest, now in its 10th year.

And the members listened.

From left: Tonya Sexton, First Electric; Yvonne Lawrence, makeover winner from Benton holding one of her new LEDs; David Hannah, Jamie McAfee and Nancy Meador of First Electric.

Approximately 13,000 entries were received during the contest, which kicked off in June and ended in mid-July. The winners were chosen through a random drawing, with 170 lucky electric cooperative members, 10 from each of the state’s 17 electric co-ops, winning LED lighting retrofit kits.

The kits included 72 General Electric (GE) energy-efficient LED general purpose, recessed, outdoor flood and decorative candelabra bulbs. GE has partnered with the Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas in eight of the past 10 contests.

Bret Curry, residential energy marketing manager for Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corporation (AECC), said the light change-outs for the winners could save enough energy statewide to power dozens of homes.

In the past decade, Arkansas’ electric co-ops have completed seven whole-home energy efficiency makeovers including a manufactured home along with 34 mini-makeovers. This was the first year for the lighting kit promotion.

Bret Curry installs LEDs at a makeover winner‘s home.

“This year’s contest entries exceeded our expectations. That’s a reminder that energy efficiency education, manageable electric bills and a comfortable home are still important to our cooperative members,” Curry said.

You can find the list of all the winners by clicking here.